Captain America, The 1966 Animated Series, 2 DVD Set

(1 review) Write a Review
Current Stock:

The Marvel Super-Heroes consisted of five different segments, each starring a well-known superhero from a particular Marvel comic¿ Captain America, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man, The Sub-Mariner, and Thor. In order to meet the demands of presenting so many characters each week, the stories were told in a cliffhanger format, with 3 chapters per episode, thus requiring fewer scripts. The creators also saved time through the use of Xerography, a process that allowed animators to copy pencil sketches directly onto animation cels, thereby saving them from having to redraw any scenes. While this technique resulted in a severe stiffness of the characters and almost no movement, it allowed the animators to churn out regular battles between our heroes and their super-powered nemeses. Despite the limited animation, The Marvel Super-Heroes won its share of loyal fans. Namor, Captain America, and Thor continued to guest-star in later Marvel cartoons, while The Incredible Hulk and Iron Man eventually got new shows of their own.
All 13 episodes and 39 chapters are included on 2-Discs.

Captain America was really Steve Rogers, a skinny World War II G.I. who volunteered to be a guinea pig for an experimental super soldier serum. After taking the drug, Steve was endowed with heightened strength, speed, and agility, making him the finest specimen the human race had to offer. With the use of his newfound powers and a nearly indestructible shield, Captain America and his sidekick Bucky battled super villains like the Red Skull, as well as an inexhaustible supply of Nazi soldiers.

Episode 1:
1. The Origin of Captain America
2. Wreckers Among Us
3. Enter Red Skull

Episode 2:
4. The Sentinel and the Spy
5. The Fantastic Origin of the Red Skull
6. Lest Tyranny Triumph

Episode 3:
7. Midnight In Greymoor Castle
8. If This Be Treason
9. When You Lie Down With Dogs

Episode 4:
10. The Revenge of Captain America
11. The Trap Is Sprung
12. So Dies A Villain

Episode 5:
13. Return of Captain America
14. The Search
15. To Live Again

Episode 6:
16. Zemo and His Masters of Evil
17. Zemo Strikes
18. The Fury of Zemo
Episode 7:
19. Let The Past Be Gone
20. The Adaptoid
21. The Super Adaptoid

Episode 8:
22. Coming of the Swordsman
23. Vengeance Is Ours
24. Emissary of Destruction

Episode 9:
25. Bitter Taste of Defeat
26. Sorcery Triumph
27. The Road Back

Episode 10:
28. Doorway To Doom
29. When the Commissar Commands
30. Duel Or Die

Episode 11:
31. The Sleeper Shall Awake
32. Where Walks the Sleeper
33. The Final Sleep

Episode 12:
34. The Girl From Cap's Past
35. The Stage Is Set
36. 30 Minutes To Live

Episode 13:
37. The Red Skull Lives
38. He Who Holds the Cosmic Cube
39. The Red Skull Supreme
Audio/Video Quality: B
DVD is NTSC format, Region 0 (region free) and playable world wide. ships this Dvd USPS PRIORITY MAIL!
With FREE delivery confirmation, so you can track your package.

*This product is manufactured ON DEMAND using DVD-R recordable media. DVD-Rs (the "R" stands for "recordable") look like the discs you're used to and offer the same audio and image quality. This recordable media is used to manufacture titles on demand, as fully authorized by the content provider or the content is officially in public domain. By eliminating inventory, waste, and inefficiencies in the distribution system, on-demand manufacturing provides the added benefit of helping preserve the film and the environment. This is a Region-Free NTSC DVD. It is NOT a factory made DVD. There are NO refunds for this DVD. Only exchange for defective DVD and for the SAME TITLE only. For more information please visit our About Us page. Thank you.


  • 4
    Captain America 1966

    Posted by Lee Wallace on 11th Aug 2018

    I love these old cartoons that are right from the pages from the books. Everything worked fine. Only issue is that the episodes weren't in the right order on the disc.